School Structure

Children will spend seven years in formal education at Kempsford Primary School (from age 4 or 5 to age 11). The school provides pre-school facilities within our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) so children could spend up to 9 years at Kempsford.

Key Stages

Children are taught across three Key Stages (EYFS, KS1 and KS2).

Stage Description
Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Ages 2 to 4. Pre-school age children.
Ages 4 and 5. Children starting full time education enter Reception class for one year.
Key Stage 1 (KS1) Ages 5 to 7. Children spend 2 years in this key stage, comprising school years 1 and 2.
Key Stage 2 (KS2) Ages 7 to 11. Children spend 4 years in this key stage, comprising school years 3 to 6.


There are four classes at Kempsford Primary School.

The Hive (including pre-school and reception children)
Class 1 (comprising Year 1 and 2)
Class 2 (comprising Year 3 and 4)
Class 3 (comprising Year 5 and 6)